The Regional Championships of Online Poker (RCOOP) is Launched

RCOOP logo

Poker Stars is launching a totally new series of online events that intends to crown the finest poker player in each region around the world. This new tournament is a follow-up to the vastly popular World Championships of Online Poker (WCOOP). However, this time players are restricted to playing against players in their region only.

The series of events will include games for all tastes including Texas Hold’em, Omaha Hold'em, 7 Cards Stud and HORSE. The buy-ins for the different events will be of changing amounts to ensure every player from each region has a fair chance, with satellites available on a regular basis to qualify. A number of the events will be hosted by the Team Poker Stars Pros which will add some spice to the proceedings. So don’t be surprised to see the likes of Victoria Coren, JP Kelly, Chris Moneymaker and Daniel Negreanu rocking the tables and having a go at winning their respective Regional Championships.

The new series includes 13 legs, covering 13 regions around the world; each leg will host 11 events, including its own main event and will guarantee a prize pool of its own. Legs include:

  1. The Russian Open (31/10/2010 – 7/11/2010): open to players from the Russian region

  2. The Nordic Championship (4/11/2010 – 14/11/2010): offered to participants from Scandinavia

  3. The Baltics Championship (4/11/2010 – 14/11/2010): open only to players from Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania

  4. The USA Championship (21/11/2010 – 28/11/2010): aimed exclusively at players from the US

  5. The Canadian Championship (21/11/2010 – 28/11/2010): presented to Canadian participates

  6. The Germanics Championship (21/11/2010 – 28/11/2010): with entrants coming from Germany, Austria, Liechtenstein and Switzerland

  7. The Asia Pacific Championship (21/11/2010 – 28/11/2010): covering 33 Asian and Pacific countries

  8. The Mediterranean Championship (21/11/2010 – 28/11/2010): offered to players from Italy, Greece, Turkey, Cyprus, Malta, Israel and Lebanon!

  9. UK and Ireland Championship (5/12/2010 – 12/12/2010): eligible to players from United Kingdom, Ireland and the Isle of Man.

  10. The Central and Eastern European Championship (6/12/2010 – 16/12/2010): with participants from Albania, Bulgaria, Czech Republic and Poland

  11. Latin American Championship (5/12/2010 – 12/12/2010): with 39 participating countries, including Argentina, Brazil and Honduras

  12. The Iberian Championship (13/2/2011 – 20/2/2011): Covering Spain and Portugal

  13. The Benelux Championship (schedule TBD): open to players from Belgium, Netherlands and Luxembourg.

Poker Stars is the largest poker room in the world and has an outstanding reputation for online and offline tournaments. Their previous accolades include the world famous Sunday Million, Spring Championship of Online Poker and a series of live poker tours such as the European Poker Tour. This tournament is only set to improve its status as the king of online and offline events.

Best Poker Rooms

Max Bonus: $400

Be part of the trusted 888 network.


Poker Hand Rankings


Deutsche - Pokerspiele

Italiano - Poker Italia